Another backcountry ski trip…

This weekend, we go on another backcountry ski trip to the Lost Wonder Hut. The 2 big white dogs have rested all week and are raring to go.  I’m psyched too, except I probably won’t get my marathon training miles in.  My plan, way back before the ski trip got organized, was to do 7 miles on Friday, 8 miles on Saturday, 15 miles on Sunday.  Instead I will ski approximately 2 miles with a heavy pack on on Friday, unknown miles on Saturday (all dependent on conditions, dogs, cold, weather, etc., etc.), and 2 out with a somewhat less heavy pack on on Sunday.

So, we got running-woman-copia  versus Dawn Patrol skiing

I realize that I could just dump the running and consider the skiing as a sort of cross-training. Or, I could get totally gonzo and force my husband to leave early Sunday so I can get back home and get a run in, although it would be nowhere near the miles I “should” be doing.

So I have myself a bit of a quandary. Most likely the running miles will go out the window, and I will not be the worse for wear, but you get in the running mode and you always wonder if some time off will hurt, right? I’m not the only runner out there who gets a bit too into it, am I? Perhaps, I’m just a bit too neurotic. Perhaps I just need to ski and be happy that I have the opportunity to do so.

I believe the skiing will win out. Back to the miles on Monday, here’s hoping!

4 thoughts on “Another backcountry ski trip…

Leave a Reply

