Finally, a comfortable run

Today, a solid seven days after the snowshoe death march, I mean, race, I finally had a comfortable run.  I took a day off from running the day after the death march, ahem, race, but started up again on Monday.  So six miles on Monday, four miles Tuesday (with speed work and crazy wind), Pilates reformer class on Wednesday, seven miles marathon pace on Thursday (I am doing the Boston marathon in April, and am attempting to train for that, as well as this crazy ultra), four miles Friday, and eight miles today.  And it took until today until I felt good.  Not sure if I needed more recovery post death march, I mean race, or if I just needed to get some consecutive training days in to adjust, or what.

I did manage to take the 2 big white dogs for two of the runs.  At some point, I’ll figure out how to take some decent video of them running and post it so others can see the joy and power they exhibit out there.  It is inspiring!  But for the time being, you just get pictures of them after a run, like this one:

Y and S asleep, post-run

Y and S asleep, post-run

Now, the only problem, is sore feet.  It’s nothing major, and I do know aches and pains from lots of physical activity over the years, and because of my work as a massage therapist.  Thank god, I got one of these!

The BEST foot roller!

The BEST foot roller!

Tomorrow, 14 miles.  At least, that’s the plan.  Will keep you apprised.

 

Leave a Reply

