Psyching Out

So, there is a reason for having a recovery day after a speed workout. I know that, but instead I opted for a moderately intense Pilates class, and then later in the day, a short, but fast run. Ugh. That run did not go well. Legs were like logs. And then, so quickly, came the negative self-talk. “You’re struggling with this, and you think you can do a hundred?,” my addled brain provokes.  “Are you nuts?” Psyche out!

I should leave that psyche out for my competition. Except my biggest, and sometimes only competitor, is me. And me – all parts of me – need to be on the same page. At least most of the time.

Does this hapoen to you? If so, what do you do to combat it? And why is it sometimes so hard not to run?

Leave a Reply

